Distinguished Lecture Series 2011-2012

Distinguished Lecture Series 2011-2012

September 29
John Condeelis, PhD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
John.condeelis@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/biophotonics
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/home/faculty/profile
Topic: Physics of cancer. Microscope design and application to high resolution optical imaging of breast tumors. Discovery of markers for prognosis and treatment.

Watch video of lecture.

October 27
Robert Kurman, MD
The Johns Hopkins University Medical Institution
rkurman@jhmi.edu
Topic: The pathogenesis of gynecologic cancers

November 15
Richard Blumberg, MD
Brigham and Women's Hospital
RBLUMBERG@PARTNERS.ORG
http://rsblumberg.bwh.harvard.edu
Topic: ER stress and intestinal inflammation

November 17
Susan Band Horwitz, PhD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
susan.horwitz@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu
Topic: Taxol, Tubulin and Tumors:Challenges in the new era of cancer therapeutics

Watch video of lecture.

December 15
Avrum Spira, MD, MSc
Director, Translational Bioinformatics Program
Clinical and Translational Science Institute, Boston University
aspira@bu.edu
http://www.bumc.bu.edu/pulmonary/people/faculty/avrumspira
Topic: Applying high-throughput genomic and bioinformatics tools to the translational study of lung cancer and Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease (COPD)

January 12
Jacqueline Lees, PhD
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
jalees@mit.edu
Topic: Identifying the proteins and pathways that play a key role in tumorigenecity and establishing the mechanism of their action in both normal and tumor cells

February 9
Marco Colonna, MD
Washington University School of Medicine
mcolonna@wustl.edu
http://pathology.wustl.edu/faculty
Topic: Discovery and characterization of receptors used by innate immune cells to recognize pathogens and tumors.

February 23
Ian Macara, PhD
University of Virginia School of Medicine
imacara@virginia.edu
http://www.medicine.virginia.edu/research
Topic: Molecular mechanisms of cell polarity, with an emphasis on epithelial apical/basal polarity, and the connections between polarity proteins, tumorigenesis and metastasis.

March 2
Eileen White, PhD
Rutgers University
whiteei@umdnj.edu
http://www.cinj.org/faculty/white.php
Topic: Role of autophagy in supporting cancer metabolism during tumor growth and therapy

March 8
Susan Taylor, PhD
University of California, San Diego
staylor@ucsd.edu
http://susantaylorlab.ucsd.edu/
Topic: Dynamic Signaling By PKA

April 12
Michael Caligiuri, MD
The Ohio State University
Michael.caligiuri@osumc.edu
http://caligiurilab.com
Topic: Molecular biology of leukemia, vaccine development to prevent lymphoma, and natural killer cell biology