Distinguished Lecture Series 2012-2013

Lincoln Day

November 9, 2012
Read more »

Continuing Education

CME, CNE, and Fellowship training schedules available here >>

The Office of Academic Affairs

Distinguished Lecture Series 2012-2013

November 8
Channing Der, PhD
UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
cjder@med.unc.edu
http://cancer.med.unc.edu/derlab
Topic: Aberrant Ras and Rho signaling in cancer: drugging the undruggable

November 29
Joseph Schlessinger, PhD
Yale University School of Medicine
joseph.schlessinger@yale.edu
http://schlessinger.yalemedicine.org
Topic: Cell signaling by receptor tyrosine kinases; from basic principles to cancer therapy

December 13
Angelika Amon, PhD
MIT, Department of Biology
angelika@mit.edu
http://ki.mit.edu/people/faculty/amon
Topic: The goal of our research is to obtain a detailed molecular understanding of the regulatory circuits that control chromosome segregation and what happens to cells in which these mechanisms fail and hence become aneuploid

January 17
J. Sanford Schwartz, MD
The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
schwartz@wharton.upenn.edu
http://www.wharton.upenn.edu/faculty/schwartj.html
Topic: Assessment of medical technology and medical practices; medical decision making; cost-quality tradeoffs in health care; adoption and diffusion of medical innovation; health economics; health policy

January 24
Carl June, MD
University of Pennsylvania, School of Medicine
cjune@exchange.upenn.edu
http://www.afcri.upenn.edu/ourfaculty/june_bio.html
Topic: human T cell biology: mechanisms of lymphocyte costimulation.

February 14
Joan Massague, PhD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
j-massague@ski.mskcc.org
http://mskcc.org/research/lab/joan-massague
Topic: How growth factors, signaling pathways, and gene expression programs control normal cell proliferation and cancer cell metastasis. Research is focusing on how cells receive, read, and relay such signals, and how disruptions in these processes lead to tumor formation and cancer metastasis


February 21
Helen Blau, PhD
Stanford University School of Medicine
hblau@stanford.edu
http://www.stanford.edu/group/blau/research.html
Topic: Regulation of stem cell fate and nuclear reprogramming


March 14
Neal Rosen, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
rosenn@mskcc.org
http://www.mskcc.org/research/lab/neal-rosen
Topic: Cancer Pathology; Cancer Therapeutics & Drug Development; Cell Biology; Cell Cycle Regulation; Cell Signaling; Gene Regulation; Genetics & Genomics; Tumor Growth & Metastasis

Distinguished Lecture Series 2011-2012

To see videos of past Distinguished Lectures, see our media archive