Awards and Honors 2014

Fox Chase Cancer Center Ranked 19th Among the Nation’s Top 50 Hospitals for Cancer Care by U.S. News & World Report
(Jul 15, 2014)

Fox Chase Cancer Center has been ranked 19th among the nation’s top 50 hospitals for cancer care in U.S. News & World Report’s Best Hospitals 2014-2015 rankings. Fox Chase was also cited as high performing in the areas of nephrology, urology, and gynecology, as well as a new area – ear, nose, and throat.


Robert G. Uzzo, MD, FACS, Recognized for Teaching the Next Generation of Urologic Surgeons

Robert G. Uzzo, MD, FACS,
chair of Fox Chase’s department of surgery, G. Willing “Wing” Pepper Chair in Cancer Research, and co-leader of the genitourinary cancer treatment team, received the 2014 Residents Committee Teaching Award from the American Urological Association at its annual meeting in May. The award recognizes Dr. Uzzo’s dedication to mentoring the next generation of urologic researchers.


Michael H. Levy, MD, PhD, to Receive American Society of Clinical Oncology’s First Annual Excellence in Teaching Award

Michael H. Levy, MD, PhD, vice chair of medical oncology and director of the Pain & Palliative Care Program, is being honored with the American Society of Clinical Oncology’s (ASCO) inaugural Excellence in Teaching Award at the organization’s 2014 Annual Meeting in Chicago this June. The award recognizes an individual who has had a demonstrable impact on his or her trainees and who has inspired and shaped the trainees’ practice of cancer medicine. The award underscores ASCO’s belief that teaching is as important to the future of cancer medicine as are research, care delivery, and clinical work.


58 Temple Physicians Named “Top Doctors” by Philadelphia Magazine
(Apr 30, 2014)


Mohan Doss, PhD, MCCPM receives Outstanding Leadership Award

Mohan Doss, PhD, MCCPM, a medical physicist and associate professor of diagnostic imaging, received the Outstanding Leadership Award in the field of dose-response for 2014 by the International Dose-Response Society during the organization’s annual conference April 22-23 in Amherst, Mass. The award is given for outstanding work in the field of low dose-response in each of the following three areas: Outstanding Career Achievement, Outstanding New Investigator, and Outstanding Leadership.