Awards and Honors 2012

Fox Chase Cancer Center’s Board of Associates Named Outstanding Volunteer Fundraising Group of the Year

Fox Chase Cancer Center’s Board of Associates—a long standing group of volunteers who raise money for research and patient care through special projects and fundraising events—was named Outstanding Volunteer Fundraising Group of the Year by the Association of Fundraising Professionals-Greater Philadelphia Chapter (AFP-GPC). Read more »  

Temple’s Larry Kaiser, MD, FACS, Named a “CEO of the Year”

Larry Kaiser, MD, FACS, President and CEO of the Temple University Health System, was named a “CEO of the Year” at the 2012 Healthcare Innovation Awards, sponsored by The Philadelphia Business Journal. Read more »

Association of Community Cancer Centers Honors Fox Chase with 2012 ACCC Innovator Award

Fox Chase Cancer Center has been selected by the Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC)—the leading national multidisciplinary organization that sets the standard for quality care for patients with cancer—to receive a 2012 ACCC Innovator Award, sponsored by GE Healthcare.  The award honors ACCC-member cancer programs that have exhibited forward-thinking strategic planning and developed pioneering programs and replicable models. Read more »

Fox Chase Cancer Center Listed Among the Best Cancer Hospitals in the Nation by U.S. News and World Report

Fox Chase Cancer Center has been listed among the top 50 cancer hospitals in the nation in U.S. News & World Report’s annual Best Hospitals rankings, with nephrology designated as a high-performing specialty area. The Center also ranked 6th among all hospitals in the Philadelphia metropolitan area. Read more »

Fox Chase’s Internationally Known Expert in Ovarian Cancer, Robert F. Ozols, to Be Honored by the American Society of Clinical Oncology

Each year, through its Special Awards Program, the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) recognizes researchers, patient advocates, and leaders of the global oncology community who, through their work, have made significant contributions to enhancing cancer care. These recipients of ASCO’s highest, most prestigious awards collectively represent significant strides in cancer treatment and leadership in the oncology community. This year, one of the Special Awards honorees is retired Fox Chase Cancer Center faculty member Robert F. Ozols, MD, PhD. Read more »

Thirty One Fox Chase Cancer Center Physicians Listed Among Region's Best in Philadelphia Magazine’s 2012 “Top Doctors” Issue

Fox Chase Cancer Center physicians have, once again, made a strong showing in Philadelphia magazine’s annual "Top Doctors" issue — now available on newsstands — with 31 clinicians listed among the region’s best in their specialties by a national survey of professional peers.  The list of “Top Doctors” serves as an important standard for anyone seeking expert medical care in the Philadelphia area. Read more »

Fox Chase's Postdoctoral Program is Ranked Third in the Country by The Scientist's 10th Annual Best Places to Work for Postdocs Survey

According to an annual survey done by The Scientist, a prominent life sciences magazine, Fox Chase Cancer Center is among the top three best places in the country for postdoctoral researchers to work and was the only top-ranked academic institution in the region. Read more »

ACR Accreditation

ACR Accreditation

The Department of Radiation Oncology main campus, Buckingham and the KOP-AUA facility have all received accreditation from the American College of Radiology. This is a tremendous accomplishment in our ongoing effort to assure that we meet the highest national quality standards and provide the best care for our patients. Read more »

Beatrice Mintz, PhD, Receives Ninth Annual AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research

Beatrice Mintz, PhD, professor and Jack Schultz chair in basic science at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, will receive the Ninth Annual AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research during the opening ceremony of the AACR Annual Meeting 2012. The AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research was established in 2004 to honor an individual who has made significant fundamental contributions to cancer research, either through a single scientific discovery or a body of work. Read more »